New to the CC world, need some opinions

sr975j

Hey everyone, I just joined this site today. My dad just got his CCL a few months ago and he got me interested in it. He carries a Sig 226 .40. I turn 21 in a few months and would like some opinions on what would be a good CCW weapon for me. I do have a few general standards to begin with. I would like it to be a .40. Around 600 dollars...and lastly, not a piece of junk of course. I am 6'1" and weigh about 280 so im not a small guy. I wear jeans and a t shirt year round and add a sweatshirt in the colder months. But thats pretty much all i ever wear. Can I get a few opinions on what would be a good CCW weapon for me. I am very new to the CC world and do not know much about guns yet. I plan on learning, thats why I joined this site.
Any feedback is greatly appreciated. Also, I will probably be carrying on the waistband, not sure about in or out yet.

Sam

Take a good look, read the reviews for, and shoot (find a range that rents if possible) the Smith & Wesson M&P Pistols... I just bought the 45acp full size. Cost me $569.00 +Tax. The .40S&W should be a little less. I also ordered the CrossBreed SuperTuck Deluxe IWB concealment holster for same weapon.

Crossbreed Holsters > Home

You will have to shoot many and choose the one that works for you. Find a range that rents and try a few types and makes. Keep notes of the types and calibers and ammo used. See what works for you!!! It's your personal protection weapon NOT a conversation/show piece. Size, manageable recoil, comfort, and your ability to shoot with accuracy and consistency in a life and death situation should be the deciding factors. Good luck and welcome to the site. Keep us informed on your progress and final decision.