Reloading Newbie

elkhuntCO

SEMPER FI
I am considering staring to try some reloading. My dad reloaded for quite a few years and I am going to try to get his old setup to start with. He doesn't use it any more, so I thought I would put it to use. My main reload calibers will be 30-06, 30-30, 38spl, 357mag,and I am considering buying a .204 Ruger for coyotes so I would probably reload for it also. My first question is what is the recommended reloading manual or are they all about the same. I also need to know if there is any problem reloading the nickel cases that the Winchester XP3 30-06 rounds come in. Most of my empty cases are from these rounds, as this is what I have been using for a few years, to kill elk. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Chris
Semper Fi

I asked a similar question on a forum "If you could only have one reloading manual what one would you choose"

Most replies indicated Lyman Because they do not manufacture bullets or powder and therefore may be less biased

I Use Sierra and RCBS for book references.

Lately, I have bought the One Book/One Calibers series for my calibers.

These contain data from all the manufacturers. The downside is that you need one book for each caliber.

In your situation, I would try the One Book series.

You can get these from Midway or Amazon.

-Doc

The "Modern Reloading 2nd Edition" has a lot of info and has great discussions on just about all aspects of reloading. $13.99 at Link Removed I also use an online service called AmmoGuide. Great source for info, forums for questions and discussions and a very, very large database of printable reloading data. $18.95 a year at AmmoGuide is now... "Interactive"!

I use Sierra,Speer,Nosler,Hornady,and all the freebies I can get from the powder companies. Sierra is my bullet of choice,(cause they're the BEST),but all of them have great information in them. Buy a reputable manual from the bulet company you plan on using and you will be fine. Good luck!