gun safeties

davcommander

I am about to start my search for my first CCW. I was told to avoid a certain brand of guns as the safety would not always remain on if the gun was dropped and in other settings. I do not remember which gun was being talked about nor the guy that told me that. Does anyone have any input into this?

I stopped carrying my Kimber Raptor because I never knew when and how the safety would release but it would.

There are others who have carried 1911's for years without a single incident. I started carrying my P45 for a week and same thing.

I love 1911's but I can't carry one, cocked anyway.

I carry a Sig P220 SAS or a Glock 30 now.

KK

i'm new to guns too and this video is a good on safeties on guns
welcome to the forum

enjoy and learn as i my self am doing being new to conceal carrying

Any confusion with the manipulation of the safety on a firearm can be a deadly mistake.. Brain is the primary safety. Trigger discipline is the key. Learn and practice it..

The only carry gun I carry with a manual safety, is my Colt Officer's ACP.. Both of the M&Ps I carry have no manual safety (other than the hinged trigger assembly).. All are carried with a round in the chamber ready to fire.. Become familiar with the firearm you choose to carry and practice with it regularly.. Dry fire practice with inert mock ammo is a good idea.. If you're still not sure or comfortable, seek training. Be safe...

I carry S&W revolvers or a Glock 23. My safety is my right index finger!

Agreed. For a carry gun internal safeties such as on a DA/SA decocker, or the internal drop safeties of a Glock, or a revolver with a trigger bar are ideal. You want your carry gun to be as simple and safe as possible. If you want a mechanical safety that's simple to operate look into the XD line with the grip safety.