CHL Class Instructor attitude

jethrodull

So I'm in the CHL class in Tx and had prepared ahead of time by reading up on the CHL laws that I could find, wanting to be prepared. The instructor, who is a LEO, starts talking about the laws. Specifically, he talks about the notify law, where you have to hand your CHL along with DL when ask for ID. He says, "whenever you are asked for DL, give your CHL". I say, "isn't that only if you are carrying?" He says, "What, are you Perry Mason?". I felt like saying, but didn't, "what, are you teaching your opinion, or the law?"

How come he found it necessary to belittle someone in the class? Isn't it his job to teach the law and not his opinion?
J

Your (innocent) question probably "challenged" him based on how it was asked or stated. To save face he quipped back. Your question may have been answered in his next sentence but we will never know due to having a one sided story. Way too little info.

I am A TX CHL instructor and I tell my students that the law says to notify only if you are carrying but out of respect I would tell them your a CHL holder even if you are not carrying because it will come up when he runs your drivers license. Now the funny thing is that even if you are carrying and you fail to tell him or show your CHL he can't do a damn thing because there is NO PENALTY for failing to notify.

He should teach both. If he is an LEO he should teach you what the law says and teach you from his own experience. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out that it is smart to inform LEO's of the concealed permit before they run a check on you and find out for themselves. It doesn't matter if you are carrying or not. If you have the permit, it doesn't make sense to NOT carry. That is how LEO's see it from my experience. He had no call to be a butthole. But the buttholes are the ones that will make an issue out of it if not informed.