Carmax

walknotinfear

The following is true and occurred a few years back.

I had purchased a used car from the CARMAX in Pompano Beach, Florida. I returned the used car I purchased 4 days later because the transmission was slipping. (CarMax has a 5 day return policy) I drove the car there after I got off duty (was a LEO at the time). The manager was a bit upset that I wanted the $20,000 grand back I paid for the car (Yes I actually paid cash for this car).

Now here is when the story gets weird. While I was unloading my issued equipment out of the trunk the manager noticed I had ammunition. He asked me if I was carrying a gun and I replied that I was carrying a concealed weapon and is that a problem. He stated that CarMax has a no weapon policy and that I had to depart the property immediately. I than told the manager that I was a law enforcement officer and he stated to me that I was not in uniform I still had to leave. I than stated that I did not have a uniform because Federal Agents do not wear uniforms and I wear suits to the office. He then stated he was going to call the police if I didn't leave. I was mad as hell but I repacked my raid gear back in the trunk and drove across the street for my brother to come pick me up (he was coming to get me because I needed a ride home anyway).

My brother arrived and asked me why I did not return the car and I than told him what happened. While I was placing my issued raid gear and ammunition into his car my brother saw my vest and raid jacket. He said why don't you place that jacket on, pull out the panels, put on your gun on and walk back in there, so I did just that. I walked back in to the CarMax with my raid jacket on, my tactical badge around my neck and my gun in clear view of the public. The manager looked at me with this scared look on his face. I than stated, I am now on duty, can I please return the car and get my money back!