Suggestions for my wife

keally1123

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to firearms and my wife is even newer. I am looking for a handgun she can carry and that isnt too difficult for her to shoot. So I guess my question is what do you ladies like to shoot and carry? She is 5'10 so she is able to handle a bigger gun but at the same time I want it to be carried. She is on our third child and I figure its time for her to be able to defend the family without me being around instead of just ignoring the evil in the world.

There has been many threads on this if you look back. Hwowever i still think its a great question, the best answer i think you will get from most is whatever she finds comfertable. She needs to pick it out if you excpet het to carry it. My wife carries an lcp but she doesnt enjoy shooting it at the range, she only will shoot enough to stay in practice because it has a bark for a little gun. If your wife has tehe chance to shoot which ever gun she picks before buying would be a benifit. Hope this helps a little.

Easy thing to do is go to your local rang and rent a few that catches her eye. 9mm, .38 would be ideal. I did the same for my wife. I said if we had to rent 100 guns to find the right one for her we will. It only to 2 trips to the range an the second time she chose the Springfield XD 9 mm 4 inch model.

Like the man says, try before you buy. A good 38 revolver like a ladysmith, or a small 9 like maybe the new shield would be good starts.

Ruger GP Revolver

My wife will only shoot the Ruger GP100 its a revolver 357 mag. The 357 magnum will also shoot 38 specials. The 38spl is my wifes choice. She has shot my 380 9mm 40cal 45 cal. She just prefers the Ruger GP100 with 38spl's. My guess is that the revolver is simple and self explanatory. Also she don't have to worry about it jamming when she needs in time of crises.