Reloading range brass

Warbirds

What are your opinions about reloading brass picked up off a public range? Yea.. No way?

I work as a RSO at a local range and while I work I get the chance to pick up a lot of brass. Right now I divide it into two groups. The brass that I pick up knowing that it came from a reliable manufacturer and run through a gun in good working order and the "other stuff" I find laying around. I see no issue in reloading the brass I saw fired and plan on recycling the "other" for cash.

Other RSOs I work with have no issue reloading the "other" brass but I don't know if it is the best practice.

Thoughts?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2

I have been picking up range brass for more years than I can count. I have only had 2 or 3 problems in thousands of rounds. Before you clean it take a look. Look for signs of pressure or having been reloaded several times. If you see signs like that throw it away. Also when your priming it, if the primer pocket has been enlarged get rid of that brass also. If there is any question in your mind that the brass is no good don't reload it. However it cuts reloading costs.

Just my 2 cents worth

Used to reload and share ammo with my friend. My ammo would not fit in his gun as his chamber was at the low end of specs and mine at the high end. He could chamber it with effort but it would not eject. Don't use it if it not from the same gun.

Used to reload and share ammo with my friend. My ammo would not fit in his gun as his chamber was at the low end of specs and mine at the high end. He could chamber it with effort but it would not eject. Don't use it if it not from the same gun.

Were you resizing your brass or just the neck?

Just resized the neck. It was 50 years ago and I was but a youngster didn't even think about till you said something. I will retain this infor for future use. Thanks