Out of State questions

MrSmoofy

I'm a resident of FL and have my FL CCW Permit. I took a NRA First Steps class to get it.

Can I use this certificate to get my UT permit? The reason I'd like to get my UT permit is because it's recogized by MN (and i cheapers then MN) and I will be in MN for 6 months. What about finger prints? They were obviously done already for FL do I need to do them again?

with the UT permit can an out of state person purchase a gun in MN?

Thanks for any help.

The UT course differs from the NRA course and must be given by a UT certified instructor. Not sure about the fingerprints, but at the very least, I would assume that you would have to obtain them from the authorities in FL and forward them to the authorities in UT. (probably not worth the hassle.)

Not sure about long gun purchases in MN, however in-person non-resident handgun purchases are against federal law. If you wish to purchase a handgun from a state in which you do not reside, it must be shipped to a FFL in your home state, at which point a BG check must be performed as though you were purchasing it from that FFL.

The UT course differs from the NRA course and must be given by a UT certified instructor. Not sure about the fingerprints, but at the very least, I would assume that you would have to obtain them from the authorities in FL and forward them to the authorities in UT. (probably not worth the hassle.)

Not sure about long gun purchases in MN, however in-person non-resident handgun purchases are against federal law. If you wish to purchase a handgun from a state in which you do not reside, it must be shipped to a FFL in your home state, at which point a BG check must be performed as though you were purchasing it from that FFL.

Thank you for the answers and quick responses definitly clears up some questions I had.

My understanding was the fingerprints were FEDERAL not for the state and it would seem that if they already have them on file why would they need them again.