How much expereince is enough?

Ricky_Bobby

I am 25 and looking to start moving in some sort of definite direction for a career. I am currently working for a private univeristy that provides me and my family with a decent paycheck and good health benefits but I really want to do something in the firearm industry. Ideally instructing would be where I would like to start. I know taking NRA courses are the place to start but from everything I have read taking up an apprenticeship is the next step after that. So my question for all you instructors are: What are the best ways to begin an apprenticeship?
As an instructor, whas is it that would benefit you to take on an apprentice? How much experience are you looking for? I ask that last question because i have a burning passion for firearms but i am still relatively new to everything. I grew up in central NY and had a healthy respect for guns. We had a .22 growing up and I have some experience with a bow. It wasnt until i had finished college in 2011 when I really got into handguns. I've owned a few different types in the last couple years but i know I am still a newbie. I try and shoot as much as I can but the extra expense makes it hard to go often. I read all that I can and try not to act like a know it all. I just want to learn more.

So any advice/feedback from any instructors would be greatly appreciated.

Rick Bobby

Well you should definitely have quite a lot of experience. That is a must unless you start dealing with these firearms. A reg is also a thing to look out for.