What would you do?

Shad C. Rogers

My wife and I would like to get our ccw permits. A little background about me I am a former US Marine (12 years out) and I was a police officer for 6 years (5 years out). I don't believe any of my history allows me to get the permit without taking the ccw class. My wife and I are planning on moving to Florida in May/June.

My question: Should we get or permits in Ohio? (since they are good in Fl.) or wait and apply in Fl?

Thanks,
Shad

My wife and I would like to get our ccw permits. A little background about me I am a former US Marine (12 years out) and I was a police officer for 6 years (5 years out). I don't believe any of my history allows me to get the permit without taking the ccw class. My wife and I are planning on moving to Florida in May/June.

My question: Should we get or permits in Ohio? (since they are good in Fl.) or wait and apply in Fl?

Thanks,
Shad

To apply for your Florida CCW all you need is your DD214.

Check into a non-resident Florida and converting to resident when you move.

There is only one Florida CCW permit. If you are not a resident of Florida it is called non-resident. I would use my DD-214 and apply for the Florida permit, got mine in 46 days, applied 2/1/13. When you move to Florida you will provide the state with your new Florida address and your permit will then be a resident Florida CCW. No where on the Florida CCW permit does it state non-resident or resident.

Thanks,
Shad

Check out the map here on USA Carry.. There is just a few states that differ on the two permits. If you do much traveling would be nice to have both. If was you, I would get one in Ohio before you move, and get your Florida one after you become a resident... that will open up a few more states for you to carry in.

Check into a non-resident Florida and converting to resident when you move.