What are the pros and cons of an ankle holster?

Karsten

I am brand new to concealed carry. Since I normally wear polo or golf type shirts in the office with my shirt tail tucked in, IWB is not practical for me.

I am mostly carrying in a soft leather brief case that contains my Bible, files and notes, and books.

I am thinking towards an ankle holster for a compact .380 or 9mm.

Is there a particular ankle holster you would recommend? What are the pros and cons of an ankle holster?

I have seen some ankle holsters that have a wide velcro strap and some with a small strap that goes high on the calf. What is the significance of the high strap?

I'm in a similar situation when I'm at work. I have one of these: Link Removed
Pros - Completely concealed, secure and comfortable.
Cons - not as easily accessible as I would like, but definitely better than not carrying.

The one I have for my Sig P238 .380 is an Uncle Mike that sounds like the one you are looking at. With mine, I wrap the higher strap just under my knee so the part that hangs down attaches to the velcro on the wider band below. I think it's just to help the holster stay up.

I like this holster but find it really only works for me when I am wearing cowboy boots. (oh yeah, I forgot to mention that I am a girl :) Otherwise it just slides down to my ankle and is not very well concealed there. Also, I have to wear wider boot cut pants or I could not get the pant leg up in time for it to be helpful. Ankle holsters are really only practical, I think, for back up guns, though, because of the gun's general inaccessibility.

I personally where an ankle holster in the same predicament you have.
Pros-
you cant see it if you wear proper pants
dont need to worry about adjusting your shirt or holster
it is another option to carry

Cons-
accessability is lowered
is able to come loose (doesnt matter what holster you have or retention device...its just how it goes )
hard to run