Tactical lights, good or bad for home defense?

m.ritz

I just wanted to get some opinions on rail mounted tactical lights for home protection. As far as I can come up with, I see the pros being that you can see what you're shooting at in the dark, and you put the intruder at a disadvantage if you have 600+ lumens blasting in his face. The con that I can think of would be giving away your location when searching for him after hearing him enter your home. Do I have that right, or am I missing something in my strategy? I've never used one before, or been in any kind of defensive situation involving a gun. (And hopefully it stays that way!)

Sent from my SM-G900V using USA Carry mobile app

Get some training! That will answer your questions and help you decide. Your questions relate to weapons handling in low light conditions and home defense with a firearm, two different topics.

For me, a weapon-mounted light is a MUST on any home defense firearm. Rule #4: Identify your target, and what is behind it. Most weapon-mounted lights have a momentary-on switch that allows one to turn on the light when needed. You won't give your location away until you have the need to identify your target. You do not need to point the firearm at something for identification. Point the firearm in a safe direction (up or down) and turn on the light. The reflection off the ground or ceiling will provide enough light for identification. 600+ lumens is way too much. There is no need to light up a room to daylight conditions. Your eyes won't be able to adjust that quickly. You can also blind yourself via reflective surfaces. 200-300 lumens is tactically more sound.

Something to consider.......

Night lights that plug into the wall are cheap. Cheap enough to have more than one in each room. And if there are enough placed properly they give enough light to be able to identify who is in the room.

Watch this: James Yeager - Low Light.