Summer carry question?

kelpike

I'm a carpenter by trade and I wear a tool pouch at work. That makes it hard to wear my Bodyguard 380 in it's holster. That and I wouldn't want the gun exposed to the dust and sawdust all day. I've been keeping the gun in my front pocket in a neoprene case similar to a pocket holster. this case only covers the barrel and trigger so everything from the trigger back is exposed. I'm not even sure if the covered parts are safe from moisture. Is there something I should put in the pocket between my body and the gun to stop the sweat (moisture) from getting on the gun?

I don't put anything else between by firearm/holster and pocket fabric. Lint, dirt, sweat...pockets are dirty places...wipe it down frequently and you shouldn't have any problems.

Sent from my D6616 using USA Carry mobile app

I use a "Sticky Holster" and wipe it (the Bodyguard) every evening with a gun cloth. Never have any problems. You can get them in most any gun shops, etc. Cost about $20.00

n6e5wx.jpg

You will need to break down, clean and lube gun often as a lot more dirt and dust gets inside your gun with pocket carry.

I spent a few summers while I was in college working in construction. I'll be frank with you: The work was hard, often difficult and dangerous, (Especially when we were high in the air.) and my body was in almost constant motion. Know what? I'm 100% positive that I wouldn't have carried any semi-auto in C-1 while I was working in the trades.

What for? I always had a 22 - 28 oz. framing hammer on my belt; and using it precisely with a great deal of force was second nature. All of the experienced crew members could sink an 8 penny nail with a tap, one very hard shot, and a bounce. (Sometimes we did this, virtually, all day long! The work was hard; but the pay was great; and it went a long way toward getting me through school.) Then, there were always the crow and pry bars; each a deadly weapon in its own right.