Pros and Cons of buying used

NewlyEnthused

As you can tell, I am a newbie and this maybe one of those dumb newbie questions. But.
I have heard it said that you don't want to trust the protection of your family to a used gun.
But I hear about guys (and ladies) buying used and am curious what the whys and how's are?

And if I buy a used firearm, what do I need to look for, do, etc?

And what about the infamous pawn shop guns?

Thanks

Used is OK. Just take it to a range and test it before trusting it. Never hurts to educate yourself as you are trying to do in here. Personally, I like YouTube for info as well. Especially Hickok45, his vids are great. There are other good reviewers as well.

As far as pawn shops go, I find the ones around here to be over priced, but it never hurts to check. You never know when they might slip up.

So far, the only "used" guns I have bought are Military Surplus. :pleasantry:

This is a long response, but I feel it's quite accurate...... revolvers first, then semi autos....

Buying a Used Revolver

by Grant Cunningham

So you want to buy a used revolver? Good for you! The double-action revolver is a wonderful firearm, reliable and durable - but it’s still a mechanical device which can wear. Check for proper and safe function before you spend your cash!

The Quick-and-Dirty Checkout

First, make sure that the gun is unloaded! Except for those tests that require the cylinder be closed, leave the cylinder open for the duration of your inspection.

Carefully look the gun over. Check for any rust or corrosion inside or out. (Refinishing costs can be substantial.) Look at any screws; note any damage. (If someone is that clumsy with simple external parts, there’s no telling what damage they did to the more delicate interior mechanisms. Proceed cautiously!)

Check the muzzle: is the crown in good shape? If the crown is damaged, the gun may not shoot accurately until the crown is re-cut by a gunsmith. It may also be a sign that gun was dropped.