People in Portsmouth panic at the sight of man with guns.

+1 to your post.

I was a police officer for 11 years in NH and actually remember reading said memo. It was issued by Cheshire County Attorney (then AG) Peter Heed.

I remember debating this issue with a former sergeant of mine. Sadly, most cops seem to think there is an open carrying exception to the 4th Amendment (or Part I, Article 19).

There isn't. :)

The only argument you ever hear from the police, police unions etc.. Is the blanket excuse of "Officer Safety," they use this line for everything they disagree with. Some how hoping that the uneducated public on the issue will here this cry and flock to support them. Be it lawful citizens who choose to open carry, or video taping law enforcement officers in public while carrying out their duties. I really fail to see how this blanket claim holds any weight when it comes to video taping officers in public. If anything you would think they would welcome more cameras on the street? It could/has help clear officers of wrong doing. As they like to say to citizens "Not talking to us/lawyer up makes you look guilty." I say the same thing to them on this issue, not wanting to be filmed makes you look duty! If your a good police officer with nothing to hide then whats the problem? I can only hope that NH House Bill 145 will pass this time around.

I do see a few problems with it though!

(1) The person making the recording shall first give notification of the recording to the officer;

(3) The act of recording does not interfere with the officer’s ability to perform his or her official duties.