Non resident open carry in MI

hyrczyk

Hi I am new here and after some searching around still haven't found the answer to this. Can some one from out of state(WI) open carry in MI? More specifically to camp grounds/while hiking up in Lake of The Clouds area and places like that.

Here's some info.

This is the info from Traveler's Guide to the Firearms Laws of the Fifty States, 2008 edition, by J. Scott. Kappas. Esq.

Please keep in mind that I am not a lawyer. The author is, but the following statement must not be used as legal advice. Still, you had best consult with a firearms attorney in Michigan.

Quote:

Open carry: unrestricted under state law: however, very uncommon except in rural areas.

Close Quote

You might want to Google any Michigan-based firearms forums, or perhaps lawyer firearms Michigan.

My personal opinion: if it is very uncommon, you will be hassled. The local police, if they cannot charge you with a firearms offense, will find some other statute with which to charge you.

This is the info from Traveler's Guide to the Firearms Laws of the Fifty States, 2008 edition, by J. Scott. Kappas. Esq.

Please keep in mind that I am not a lawyer. The author is, but the following statement must not be used as legal advice. Still, you had best consult with a firearms attorney in Michigan.

Quote:

Open carry: unrestricted under state law: however, very uncommon except in rural areas.

Close Quote

You might want to Google any Michigan-based firearms forums, or perhaps lawyer firearms Michigan.

My personal opinion: if it is very uncommon, you will be hassled. The local police, if they cannot charge you with a firearms offense, will find some other statute with which to charge you.

Thats a big 10-4 on that one. My permits allow me to carry concealed in Michigan, even though I live in Indiana, but I would not push that open carry issue if I did not live in that state.:no:

I really don't know where this site got this Opinion.