Hello, New to group.

Go with Familliar smaller Glock 9mm or Trade up To Glock .45?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

mperkins37

Hello Guys / Gals,
I am considering going Concealed Carry and have been doing my research.
I own a glock model 19 & have been shooting with it for 4-5 Years, so I am comfortable with it.
Should I stick with it or go .45? Seems like the 9mm is better for conceal, but if I actually need it Stopping power would trump looks eh?
I have handled Hunting rifles since 11 or 12, & have been through Carry safety class when I was security guard in 2005 or so.
Is CCW required in AZ or not? I keep getting mixed answers, like no but it doesn't hurt?
I had one but let it expire when I stopped working Security.
BTW I am A Graphic Designer, & can cut Vinyl Logos if anybody needs anything.
Any thoughts?
623-760-7743
Mike Perkins

Last edited:
Ahh, the "Stopping Power" myth. I love to hate it. There's no such thing. Depending on the size of the person, A BG can recover from a .45 just as quickly as a 9mm. If you place your shots correctly, no matter what caliber you carry, you can end the threat.

9mm is plenty for Concealed Carry and Self defense. I carry a G19 every day and I wouldn't have anything else. It's a great gun.

Disclaimer: IANAL/TINLA applies here.

From what I understand, AZ is now Constitutional Carry. You require no permits or licenses and you can carry it as you wish. Concealed does give you the element of surprise when you need it, but you need to train that way to be come proficient.

Good luck to you!

Concealed carry does not give the element of surprise. The element of surprise can belong only to one party in a conflict. And in situations of personal defense, the element of surprise ALWAYS belongs to the attacker. (SURPRISE - I'm going to mug/rob/rape/beat/shoot you today!)