Georgia and South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit Question

msbrown

I just moved to Georgia from South Carolina, where I have my CWP. Since I am now a resident of GA, I can technically get a my GA carry permit correct? But this poses a problem, will my SC CWP permit still be valid? I frequently travel back and forth between both states as I live very close to the state lines, so what is my best option?

I don't see a "resident time" for which one has to be a GA resident before applying...so you should be good to go there.

Your SC permit may or may not be voided when you inform them of your address change.

As I understand SC law, your SC CWP is no longer valid since you have moved to Georgia. If you own property in SC, you qualify for a SC non-resident CWP. Otherwise, I don't know how you can solve the problem because SC does not recognize permits of people who are not residents of the state that issued the permit. Is that confusing enough?!

As I understand SC law, your SC CWP is no longer valid since you have moved to Georgia. If you own property in SC, you qualify for a SC non-resident CWP. Otherwise, I don't know how you can solve the problem because SC does not recognize permits of people who are not residents of the state that issued the permit. Is that confusing enough?!

That's the way I understand it as well.

Thanks guys, I was just trying to find a way around it. I guess the only way I can technically have both is if I still lived in SC, then I could just get a NH non-resident and be done with it.

You are correct. Even if you get a NH nonresident permit once you move to GA you won't be able to carry in SC. Hopefully they will pass the new bill and we start recognizing all permits.