Concealed Carry Permit the Root of Gun Addiction?

Riverkilt

Yes, I know, you don't need a permit to carry concealed in Arizona. But I live just south of the Utah border and often travel over the line.

Anyway, until I was 65 I'd only owned 4 guns. A plinker .22 Winchester rifle, A 16 gauge single shot shotgun, my S&W LEO service revolver, and a PPK .380 when I was a traveling jewelry salesman.

At 65 I got the permit. In the four years since I've bought 26 firearms!! 26!! What is with that? Have sold off a bunch that were poor quality and reinvested in guns from manufacturer's who provide quality products...but still - 26!!??

Of course I'm not married......

I remember thinking, "Now that I have the permit I might as well get a gun I can conceal." (sold the PPK many years ago...)

Then it wasn't just little pistols and revolvers it was BIG pistols and revolvers...and automatic rifles...and a shotgun....and with the money I've spent on all the different gun magazines at the supermarket I could probably have bought another gun...and magazines that go in the guns....and ammo....and things to put the ammo in....and targets...and things and fluids to clean the guns with....

In fairness there is therapeutic benefit to range time...but there's also frustration climbing the learning curve of reassembly after cleaning....thank God for you tube...never seen a manual from a manufacturer that didn't gloss over the tricky stuff.

So now, in my 70th year....I'm practicing my Clint Eastwood and Charles Bronson lines....and I don't worry about anyone ******* with me anymore....

And it all started with the permit....

Good for you, nice story. I start my 70th year at the end of this year and I've got about 12 guns and rifles. Lately I'm looking to sell a couple and get another one. They are hard to let go of, they're like old friends. And oh, the best part, batteries not needed.:no: