Anyone carry a single action revolver?

TrapperBob

Just a curiosity question, anyone carry a single action revolver as a carry gun? I sometimes carry one as a woods gun where my primary concern is 4-legged creatures, but not as a normal carry gun.

I haven't even owned a SAA in probably 30 years, but I did carry that one regularly when I was renting a cabin on 50 acres that backed up to over 100,000 acres of a Weyerhaeuser tree farm in WA State. I worked in town though, and CC'ed a DA/SA revolver there.

So I don't carry a SAA now, but I know someone who does. Link Removed

Blues

I carry a NAA .22 mag on more occasions then I like. It is the only one I can carry in the circumstances.

When I'm at home, I always have my NAA Pug in my pocket, and it goes along on dog walks, etc. If I'm leaving home, it stays behind and a PM9 takes its place.

Nope.

I own better than a half a dozen of the things and I've been shooting CAS with them for about 15 years now, so I have no problem with running one. I just figure there are better options in the safe than a really big 5 shot wheelgun (I don't own any Ruger single actions- they don't fit my hand as well as Colts or their clones- so I carry a single action with the hammer down on an empty chamber) that I can't reload with a speed loader. I can reload one pretty quickly but it still comes down to shucking the empties one at a time and reloading it one at a time.

That being said, I wouldn't feel under armed if that was all I had and a situation arose where I needed to use a gun. It might only hold 5 shots but a large bore single action revolver (all of mine are .44's or .45's except for a Colt New Frontier .22) can get the job done- within the limitations of capacity.