Anti-gun hysteria continues in Australia

DW98

For the past few weeks, all police agencies in the country have been running a 'blitz' on illegal firearms, as well as increasing safe storage checks on firearms owners, because criminals might break in and steal them :rolleyes:

Earlier this week, a (sadly) popular radio station had an interview with a high-ranking police officer about illegal guns in the community.

Feel free to give it a dislike and leave a comment.

"I think its some sort of automatic, I don't think its a machine gun, but, its definitely a 'high-powered' weapon, err, I'm not an expert on guns..." Says the police officer with decades of experience.

"This was ceased from a well know criminal, who's been involved in violent crime for a number of years, including shooting incidents with police, just one of the weapons found in his possession." I bet he was a licensed LAFO, right?

"It scares the bejibers out of me, if this was in the hands of an ice addict, are those the sorts of criminals more involved in guns now adays than before?" "That's no rifle (Yes, it is.), or anything like that! That's the sort of thing you see in war!"

"And, in fact, didn't the president of the United States mention Australia, had we managed, after the massacres in Tasmania, how me managed to, you know, get rid of them in most cases."

"When I was a boy we had guns everywhere at our place, none of them were stored - they were in the shed, they were everywhere. The thought of having a gun in my house today, would never enter my consciousness, I could never have, could not imagine having a gun in any house I'm living in today."

"Yes, I agree, I handed mine back many years ago when I had one, I was a registered, licensed owner, I, I, just don't think we need em. No...Exactly..."