A gun free zone as a place of employment

tattedupboy

Thank God I'm alive!
I am a Hearing Officer in the County Assessor's Office. It probably goes without saying that, because it's a government building, guns aren't allowed. However, security doesn't require employees who are displaying their county ID's to go through the metal detector; many times, even those who don't have their ID visible are still allowed to go through, as long as the building security knows them. The problems here are obvious; conveivably, any employee could be carrying. That's not my concern; my concern is a disgruntled employee who may have gotten fired the previous day; if security doesn't know they got fired, the former employee could easily get in and shoot up the place. I follow the rules and leave my gun in my car because, let's face it, I need my paycheck, and I don't want to take the chance that someone sees my gun.

Has anyone else here ever faced this sort of dilemma? Not allowed to carry, but could probably get away with it? What have you done in such a scenario?

You're far more likely to get caught with a gun you're not supposed to have and get fired than you are to actually need it at work.

I am a Hearing Officer in the County Assessor's Office. It probably goes without saying that, because it's a government building, guns aren't allowed.

Does it go without saying? I don't live in your state but in my current and last state that wasn't the law, it was assumed by almost everybody, but wasn't actually the law. Here in VA I can walk into a Police Station or Airport as long as I'm in a section that's accessible to the public and I don't try to go into a secured area which most people would bet money is off limits. I just scrolled through the IN section on handgunlaw and didn't see anything that prohibited carry just because it's county owned. There was some state stuff in there that's off limits and I could have missed something but didn't think so.