Veteran's Stand Down Anaconda Montana 2013

Gallstones

Today was day one of the Anaconda Veterans for Veterans Stand Down. We passed out stuff.
This was what I got.

I'm a Vet and I have been part of the planning for this event for months. I am also the Volunteer Coordinator this year and working the event. I'll be back to do it again tomorrow.

We received >52 pallets/4x4x4 crates of stuff that was made available to US Veterans free of charge. They picked up a bag at the door and stuffed it as they moved along the tables. Being a Vet and worker I got to stuff a bag or two myself.

Interesting thought I had, we passed out gear to veterans of three counties, a few hundred people at least. Tomorrow we open it up to whomever. If we, as citizens have to go guerilla, at least we are outfitted courtesy of the government.
The image includes a link to my Flickr page where there are notes about what everything is.
The grey jacket on the right has velcro patches on both shoulders. I'm going to put a III% patch on one and a Don't Tread on Me on the other.

You didn't keep your gear when you got out? Lol

I could use a new pistol belt but I'm not driving to Montana to get one.

You didn't keep your gear when you got out? Lol

I could use a new pistol belt but I'm not driving to Montana to get one.

Yes, I did keep some stuff Link Removed but that was a long time ago.

Almost no one took any of the belts. We started with three boxes and packed up three boxes.

That is awesome, I'm a Vet. also, I would have love to have gone to something like that.

They are sponsored by some Veterans group locally. Here, it is the American Legion. You might check with yours and see if they do this. I'm ignorant of the policies and such but our "guy" sends in an order for stuff to another "guy" and a truck or two show up a few days before the event and you unload the pallets.

I've been to three. Two in town and one at Fort Harrison in Helena.