Travelling through Illinois - WITH A GUN!!!

radiotom

Driving from Michigan to Utah...I am a Michigan resident and have a CPL. We have reciprocity the whole way except Illinois.

I was planning on sticking the Glock 19 (15 round magazine) unloaded and in the trunk for Illinois. Is this legally OK? If pulled over in Illinois should I tell the officer about the gun in the trunk?

Obviously the rest of the states I carry like normal. I really don't want to drive around all of Illinois...takes me really far south...

Thanks guys.

You don't have to if you have a permit in your state. You can carry but only in your car

Sent from my GT-N8013 using Tapatalk

Honestly, I would leave it unloaded in your trunk while you drive through Illinois, while it may sound bad, I would not notify an LEO [in Illinois]. If he does not have probable cause to search, then dont allow him to search your vehicle, remain respectful and get the stop over as fast as possible. OR, go around Illinois, find the quickest route through the state, and dont stop until the sign kicks you in the butt.

FOPA is your friend, google it, read it, memorize it and follow it to a T and you should have no problems

FOPA is your friend, google it, read it, memorize it and follow it to a T and you should have no problems

Looks like that says I cannot be prosecuted while travelling for a firearms related offense having it unloaded and inaccessible to me. Thanks.

I have posted this several times. This is from the I'll. state police site at

Illinois State Police | Concealed Carry FAQ

"Out of state residents are granted a limited exception to lawfully carry a concealed firearm within a vehicle if they are eligible to carry a firearm in public under the laws of their state or territory of residence and are not prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm under federal law. This rule became effective immediately.