Texas to Florida recipocity--Military

1Quik46

Hello all. Im trying to obtain a CCL and have a few questions. Ill try to make this as simple as possible and I appreciate your help.

Im in the military currently stationed in New Mexico, so Im able to open carry. I recently received an assignment to Florida but they do not allow open carry so I will need to get a CCL.

My question is do I obtain a Texas CCL since I am a Texas resident? Or do I obtain a Florida Non-resident? Its unclear to me but I dont think Florida recognizes Texas CCL.

If I get a Florida CCL, since I am Military am I required to have a Florida address?

And finally, whats the easiest way to obtain a license in the situation Im in?

Again thanks for all the help and Im sure Ill have some more questions.

And yes Ive done research and searched this site, but still have these questions.

After looking a little more on different sites, it looks as though Texas and Florida are recipocity states.

Still curious on which would be the better CCL to get.

After looking a little more on different sites, it looks as though Texas and Florida are recipocity states.

Still curious on which would be the better CCL to get.

Federal law, 18 USC 922 (q)(2):

18 USC § 922 - Unlawful acts | Title 18 - Crimes and Criminal Procedure | U.S. Code | LII / Legal Information Institute

(q)
(2)
(A) It shall be unlawful for any individual knowingly to possess a firearm that has moved in or that otherwise affects interstate or foreign commerce at a place that the individual knows, or has reasonable cause to believe, is a school zone.

(B) Subparagraph (A) does not apply to the possession of a firearm—

(i) on private property not part of school grounds;
<...or...>