Texas SB 321 and Security.

pocketdrummer

Since I am a non-commissioned officer (security guard), I am not allowed to conceal my firearm on my person even though I have my CHL. However, my employer says I'm not allowed to leave it in my vehicle in the parking lot. This seems to directly interfere with the new SB 321 that passed Sep 2011 stating that employers are no longer allowed to prohibit employees from locking their firearm in their vehicle in the parking lot provided to employees by their employer.

Can someone shed some light on this issue? Is there some other loophole that allows them to prohibit me from concealing the weapon in my car in the parking lot?

Here's some sources of information:
http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/SB00321F.htm
http://penalcode.austintexascriminaldefense.com/46.035.html

And, my interpretation of it (minus a lot of lawyer mumbo jumbo) is:

Sec 52.061: A public or private employer cannot prohibit an employee who lawfully possesses a firearm or ammunition from transporting or storing their firearm/ammo in a locked vehicle in a parking lot/garage provided to employees.

EXCEPTIONS:
Does not...
1. Allow a person with a CHL to carry where possession of a firearm is considered illegal. ie schools, federal buildings.

2. Apply to:
a) A vehicle owned by the employer
b) School District
c) Open-enrollment school
d) Private School
e) Property owned by a person, other than the employer, subject to a valid oil, gas, or mineral lease that prohibits the possession of firearms on property.
f) Property owned or leased by a chemical manufacturer / Oil and Gas Refiner blah blah explosive blah blah

B) Does not prohibit an employer from prohibiting an employee who can legally carry from possessing a firearm on the premises of the employers business.
{Premises defined in Section 46.035(f)(3))