Reciprocal between states

I just had an experience with South Carolina while traveling from my home in East Tenneesse. I was stopped by a county sheriff deputy and was informed that I had to have my side arm in the glove box while in SC. I tried to find out about this and have done nothing but confuse myself even more. I am fairly new to CCW and don't wish to get myself into trouble through being ignorant of the laws of states with reciprocal statements. Anyone familar with finding out about the laws in other states? Thank you.

Yaakov,
Printed materials go out of date daily. The NRA tries to keep a fairly updated set of regulations on the NRA.org website.

Take care and be safe
pfb

I just had an experience with South Carolina while traveling from my home in East Tenneesse. I was stopped by a county sheriff deputy and was informed that I had to have my side arm in the glove box while in SC. I tried to find out about this and have done nothing but confuse myself even more. I am fairly new to CCW and don't wish to get myself into trouble through being ignorant of the laws of states with reciprocal statements. Anyone familar with finding out about the laws in other states? Thank you.

You left out one key element in your post. Do you possess a Tennessee CCW permit? OK, apparently I was incorrect. Even with a recognized permit you can only carry in a vehicle:

SECTION 16-23-20. Unlawful carrying of handgun; exceptions.

It is unlawful for anyone to carry about the person any handgun, whether concealed or not, except as follows, unless otherwise specifically prohibited by law: