Newbie To Concealed Carry Question Kansas

GavonKH1993

As the title says, I'm from Kansas and I just recently completed the concealed carry class so I'm brand new to all things concealed carry. And I have a question for y'all that I really need a clear answer for.

I have to travel thru a school zone to get to work and as we all know it's a "no no" to carry a firearm in a school zone. So let's say an individual in my situation were to be pulled over in said school zone and this person has their firearm on them. What would happen?? Would they be in violation of the law even though he was just passing through or is there some sort of exception that I am not aware of??

I'd like to say for the record, I do not have my license yet, I have just completed the class and have sent my paperwork to the KS Attorney General for processing. I want to get all of these questions answered before I begin carrying so I can do it legally and with the fewest question marks for safety.

Any advice would be appreciated, thank you!

Possessing a permit/license from the same state the school zone is located in exempts you from the 1000' Federal Gun Free School Zone prohibition. Also, there is no requirement in Kansas to inform a law enforcement officer of your gun, so if you don't make it an issue (during any traffic stop) the officer is not likely to make it an issue.

18 USC 922 (q)(2) is the Federal Gun Free School Zone Act:
18 U.S. Code § 922 - Unlawful acts | LII / Legal Information Institute

They should have explained the exception for permit holders to you in your concealed carry class.

(2)
(A) It shall be unlawful for any individual knowingly to possess a firearm that has moved in or that otherwise affects interstate or foreign commerce at a place that the individual knows, or has reasonable cause to believe, is a school zone.
(B) Subparagraph (A) does not apply to the possession of a firearm—
(i) on private property not part of school grounds;