New Member - Hope your experience will help!

Juan Cruz

Hi every one! I'm Juan Cruz, from Argentina, and I've been looking for some help in determining what should I get. I'm a self defence instructor here and medicine student. I always carry with me a Pepper Spray and a folder knife, but things here are getting more dangerous, that's why I want to buy a pistol, and because I feel the need to know how to shoot, I love training with weapons.

I'm looking for a home defense and self defense firearm, the weapon I've already chosen because my country is really bad economically is a Bersa Ultra Compact, so that I could carry it with me sometimes for example if I have to go out at night (Here you can't carry any firearm legally unless you are with the political party, kind of Mafia).

So, it seems I have to choose between 9mm, .40 S&W and .45 ACP, just FMJ. If not, I'd get 9mm with the correct JHP, but I here it's illegal to shoot them.

I've read tons of articles and stuff about these calibers, what I'm looking for is an opinion from someone who can speak from his experience.

Which one do you think should I choose? And why?

Should I get a 9mm and train a lot and focus in shot placement? Would it be better if I get a .40?

Is there a noticeable difference between 9mm FMJ and .40 FMJ?

Greetings from the south!