Need help in CT.

wild eyed willy

My neice has been shooting the squirrels who are invading her home on her own property with a pellet/BB gun... The neighbor called the state police and they sent a crusier out to the home... The end result is my neice was told she can't shoot the squirrels if the neighbor does not approve... My neice is 16 or 17...
They own the home in CT..... Can anyone offer any help or guidance?

I'm new to CT, but I don't see how if just because the neighbor 'doesn't approve' that anything could legally be done (at least as far as that aspect goes). What if they don't approve of the color car they have? Or her haircut? Same difference.

Sounds more like a scare tactic, then an actual Law. If it is an actual law they should be able to reference it so you can have a look. Also tell the nosey neighbor to mind their own business unless the neighbor is going to foster the squirrels on their own property.

The simple solution is to ask for the code number of the actual law she is breaking. Request it in writing via email so you have clear proof of requesting justification and of their response

Never gonna stop those squirrels. Even if you pop one another just moves in to his area. Damn near the hardest pest to stop is a bird-food-eatin squirrel. Better to set out a bird feeder just for the squirrels... farther away from the house and with easy access. Fill only that feeder for a while. Eventually they'll be trained to leave others alone and seek food at that spot.

The right cat(s) will get rid of them. I had two bad ass hunters that cleared the neighborhood of squirrels so well that my neighbors said it took about 2 years after we moved before they started seeing them again!

There is a season for grey squirrels.

Species:
Gray Squirrel

Season Dates
Jan 1 - Feb 28
Sep 1 - Sep 30
Oct 15 - Dec 31 1/2