need advise

lv2bowkill

i legally posses a handgun in new york city where i am a resident. target permit NOT CARRY. i also recently received my florida concealed carry permit. i am driving to Kentucky and florida on vacation next month, where i am under the understanding that i can legally carry my firearm. when going through states that do not honor florida lic. i will lock firearm in my luggage . Is this correct and lawful???

I may also stop in south carolina for a night on my way home. it is my understanding that they do not honor my florida permit because i am a non resident. What do i do with my firearm during my stay?

any advise would be very helpful

Federal Firearms Transportation

There are 3 things to remember when traveling through states where you are unlicensed to carry.
1. Must prove legal in origin AND destination
2. Firearm unloaded and securely encased. Technically, if in a trunk that would qualify. But to be safe, place firearm in one locked container, and ammo in a separate locked container (Hard case). If vehicle without a trunk, in the furthest reach of the vehicle. Console and glove box would not qualify.
3. Travel must be continuous through the unlicensed state or city. No dinner, hotel, visit etc. I would plan so that you didn't even have to stop for gas.
To read more in depth, reference the McClure-Volkmer Act 1986.
Hope it helps. Safe trip!

i legally posses a handgun in new york city where i am a resident. target permit NOT CARRY. i also recently received my florida concealed carry permit. i am driving to Kentucky and florida on vacation next month, where i am under the understanding that i can legally carry my firearm. when going through states that do not honor florida lic. i will lock firearm in my luggage . Is this correct and lawful???