Moving to KY from NY with NY permit and Utah CCW permit.

nybuckboy

I'm considering a move to KY. I have an NY unrestricted pistol permit as well as a Utah CCW permit that is good in KY. My NY permit is only good in NY.

What do I need to do once I am a resident of KY? Is my Utah permit OK w/o my KY permit?

In other words, I will bringing my long guns as well as my handguns, all registered on my NY permit to KY if I move. My handguns are all registered on my NY cards but none are registered on my Utah card and there does not appear to be place for listing them either. Confusing!

Just a guess but most states do Not have registration oh weapons. So as far as that goes you probably won't have to in KY. As far as the Utah permit goes you will néed to check and see if it will be valid there. I know here in Louisiana my La permit is good in Ms. Also if I move to Mississippi that my La permit will be valid until it expires then I would have to get a permit in Mississippi. Now I can not say for sure if all of the states work that way....

No need to register any weapons, just bring all of them with you. Once you become a resident of KY then look into taking a CCDW class and follow through the process to get your CCDW license.

Welcome to a FREE state :cool:

No need to register any weapons, just bring all of them with you. Once you become a resident of KY then look into taking a CCDW class and follow through the process to get your CCDW license.

You mean you can own handguns w/o registering? Can you carry open? You do need to take a ccdw class to carry concealed though, is that right? I do plan to call the KY State Police at some point if I decide to move.

You mean you can own handguns w/o registering? Can you carry open? You do need to take a ccdw class to carry concealed though, is that right? I do plan to call the KY State Police at some point if I decide to move.

Correct, I open and conceal carry.