looking for a new career!

dblock

I am looking for a new career. Looking for something in Home security possible, Installer. I want to get into some type security what are my options? With all these crazy people doing break-ins and shooting. i want to help people protect them selves and there loved ones. Armed security ?

Home security CAN pay ok, but It's a very hard industry to break into. In most states it requires state licensing and take time and money to get into. Many installers are now making crap hourly rates in place of the once descent commissions they used to make. Armed Security? Check out Armed Security job listings, state licensing, classes, qualifications, and they reward you with dangerous postings and $11-15/hr. NO THANKS. Not to mention the fact that if you actually shot somebody your'd be hung out to dry if their was even the slightest push back by the public on it. I'm a Telecom/IT Technician with a ton of certifications, I used to average 70-90k a year, After year after year of more work for less money I'm now going to school to get my Class A drivers license and drive tractor trailers. The whole tech/installation side of things has completely gone to hell. It's now about low balling people until they quit and starting over with newb's until they smarten up and quit for the cycle to continue. Did tech work from 1998 until a couple months ago, and I've done it all. It's not the industry it used to be.

Thank you snatale for the insight on the jobs. Im just getting tiered of working my same old shipping and receiving job. Its really not about the money i just want to feel like i am doing something with my life. Where people may appreciate what you are doing for them. Not to say there are many jobs or employers that do.