Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Reloading Press

markt99

Hey Guys,

After 8 excruciating hours, some time on the phone with Lee Precision, and a trip to the hardware store to buy more lamp chain (The powder chain that came with it lasted about 3 hours), I believe I have my Lee Pro 1000 set up to load 45 ACP with Ranier 230 Gr Plated round nose and 5.2 gr of Bullseye.

The light was too dim to get a good chrony other than 1 (877 fps), but all had consistent "felt" recoil and the GI Milspec function fine. I'll make 10 more in the morning and try to chronograph again tomorrow.

I've only used it one round at a time (25 rounds) and it seems to work fine. There is a lot going on so I'm a little nervous as I've been loading single stage for 8 years. If all goes well for the first 100 rounds or so I'll move into trying full progressive. I'm already more efficient one round at a time with this press.

After the nightmare of setting up 45 ACP I don't plan on switch calibers. I mostly shoot 45 ACP anyway. All the other calibers are still low enough volumes to go on the single stage.

I figured out how to clear the powder in the tube after the hopper is turned off by indexing a spent case through the stages without actually engaging each stage until I get to the powder thrower. Then I move the carrier up to engage the thrower, back down only just enough to clear the die without triggering indexing to the next stage, manually pull autodisk return lever down, then repeat 5-7 times. The result is a case filled almost to the rim with powder that I can dump back in the hopper and a mostly empty powder throwing system.