HB 2317 and SB 1363

hitchhikeroftx

I'm currently a resident of VA, but my perminant duty station is in MD, address is DC. So as it stands, with my driver's license still in TX, I cannot purchase in VA (Even though I have a VA Residency CCW). With the changes that are being presented in VA HB 2317 and SB 1363, I'm curious as to what that means for my eligibility to purchase firearms after it is passed. One explanation that I have seen is that anyone that has a permanent duty station within VA but lives in a neighboring state, will be allowed to purchase, but I haven't seen anything that says if you commute form VA to a neighboring state will be able to purchase. Any thoughts?

The easiest way if you reside in Va would be to get a Va DL. You can still claim TX as your Home of record and state of legal residence.

Funny, for some reason I always thought that changing my license over to VA would put me in a wirlwind of problems when it came time to do taxes, but reading your reply plainly written out, I'm not sure why I thought there would be a hassle. Thank you for the reply.

I dunno maybe its me. I see it all as infringement. I can see states having different rules about taxes and such but they are still part and parcel of the United States of America. The current assault on the Second Amendment is not about guns, it is about all inalienable rights.