Getting started in reloading!

ares338

ares338
Getting Started with reloading!
« on: Today at 10:52:55 PM »
I am a complete noob to reloading. I have been researching various systems for function, ease of operation, safety and of course price. I had just about settled on a Lee turret press kit after watching about 100 Utube vids and decided that for the price Lee looked like a good starting point.
* * Then came a sudden epiphany.....my dad was a reloader and when he passed away last year my brother gave me his boxed up reloading equipment which was up in the attic. Now me being disabled getting up into the attic was a real fun time...lol. Anyway I managed to get up there without killing my silly self (and as you may have figured out...down too). I could barely reach the box and just managed to open the top to see what kind of equipment it contained and low and behold there was an RCBS single stage press and a bunch of other stuff.
* * As soon as I get this downstairs and unpacked I will probably have a lot of questions for the good folks of this forum. I want to reload 9mm, 38/357, .40 S&W and .45 ACP because I shoot a lot and it's somewhat expensive....besides the little woman threatened to strangle me if I didn't quit buying so many boolits...lol.

Very nice you happened to have all the equipment needed right in your attic. If I may make a suggestion, I would start with one caliber until you get used to it, either the one you use the most or the most expensive one (probably 357 Mag or 45ACP). That way you can decide if it's really for you, and you won't be stuck with $500 in dies, powders, primers and bullet if it's not.

Smart you decided to reload to save money, but I think you're going to realize you'll be spending as much if not more because you'll be shooting a lot more. :smile:

Do not just start reloading!
Just because you have watched some "utube" vids does not mean you can just start reloading.