Flying NY to CO

JayTea

I'm visiting a friend in CO who shoots on own private property. I have a NY unrestricted carry, Utah & Fl non-resident. CO does not recognize NY permit or any non-resident liscense. Can I pack my guns and fly to CO and my friend takes posession of my checked bag and we shoot on their private property?
I was thinking maybe not, if the TSA needs to see an I.D. that I can carry in the state I'm traveling to; or in reverse when at CO airport flying home asking me what was I doing with a gun in CO.

not quite right, you need to be legal to possess a weapon wherever it is you are flying into.
I do not know if you need a permit to possess a weapon in CO, you do need one to carry concealed but I think if you carry it in a locked box that you would use to fly you'd be ok there.
be warned I am not a lawyer nor am I dispensing legal advise, why don't you call the colorado AG for his opinion.

You do not need a permit to posses a weapon in Colorado, nor do you need a permit to open carry (OC is not legal in Denver) Google CRS 18-12-204

Never mind I did it for you

Colorado Revised Statute
18-12-105. Unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon - unlawful possession of weapons.(1) A person commits a class 2 misdemeanor if such person knowingly and unlawfully:
(a) Carries a knife concealed on or about his or her person; or
(b) Carries a firearm concealed on or about his or her person; or
(c) Without legal authority, carries, brings, or has in such person's possession a firearm or any explosive, incendiary, or other dangerous device on the property of or within any building in which the chambers, galleries, or offices of the general assembly, or either house thereof, are located, or in which a legislative hearing or meeting is being or is to be conducted, or in which the official office of any member, officer, or employee of the general assembly is located.
(d) (Deleted by amendment, L. 93, p. 964, § 1, effective July 1, 1993.)