florida law

marijke81

I'm new to this and haven't gotten my permit yet but I've seen these cases called "phone cases" that hold a little 380. Are these legal? It would seem they could argue that it's a holster on your belt and considered open carry.

I'm new to this and haven't gotten my permit yet but I've seen these cases called "phone cases" that hold a little 380. Are these legal? It would seem they could argue that it's a holster on your belt and considered open carry.

Yes, the "cell phone" case type holster is perfectly legal. Taurus even includes one with the gun when you buy a TCP. What is illegal (without a $200 tax stamp as an AOW) is a holster that completely disguises the gun, from which the gun can be fired without removing from the holster.

This is an AOW because it completely disguises the gun AND the gun can be fired without removing from the holster (although you would only get one shot because the slide would not cycle):
WALLET_HOLSTER_35.JPG

This is sold with the TCP and is perfectly legal, with no hoops to jump through, because the gun cannot be fired without removing it from the case:
P10003721.jpg

This is also perfectly legal, with no hoops to jump through, because it does not disguise the gun:
Link Removed

Thanks thats very helpful

Ah... but I see now what you were asking in regards to Florida law. The gun would be concealed in the case such as comes with the Taurus TCP. The average person would not be able to discern that you were carrying a gun. So, I would say, in Florida, it would be perfectly legal to carry the TCP in the case provided on your belt, with the case completely visible. Open carry is generally defined as a reasonalbe person being able to readily distinguish the object you are carrying is a gun. In the case of the TCP in it's provided case, a person would have to open the case and look inside to determine if a gun was there. Just like if you were carrying the gun in a purse or fanny pack.