finger around trigger gaurd

hey folks, new guy to the site. I carry a Gen 4 19. And wonder what you folks thing about support hand finger around the trigger gaurd?
I know lots of shooters say no, because of pull. If that is the case, why does Glock have the rigid grooved up there? I personally
don't do it,l but wondering if others do and how its working for you

Welcome aboard. I use that technique with my glocks. Works great for me but YMMV. Try out some dry firing with your index finger on the guard then try some live rounds and see what difference if any it makes for you. For me it is helpful when making follow up shots. If you don't like it, don't use that technique. I have been shooting my glocks that way for nearly 20 years so I have had plenty of range time to refine and practice what works best for me. Everyone is different and what works best for me or someone else may not work well for you but the three best things regardless of what technique you utilize is practice, practice, practice.

That is what I do when I shoot at targets. I think it reduces muzzle flip, but that could be just my imagination.

Nope.

All it does is force you to pull shots low. The leverage you gain can have a negative impact on your ability to shoot accurately. If you shoot a pistol like a shotgun, you will not see a change in doing this or not.

+10 :pleasantry:

And another +10 !!

If standing on your head or shooting between your legs is the way you shoot the best, fastest and most accurate, then do it that way. What counts is those center mass shots............and pretty much nothing else.

Nope.

All it does is force you to pull shots low. The leverage you gain can have a negative impact on your ability to shoot accurately. If you shoot a pistol like a shotgun, you will not see a change in doing this or not.