CLICK HERE TO WIN A FREE GUN

Does CWP cover knives...

cha2ga

of over 2 inches in blade length? From what I understand only blades of 2in and less are considered legal in SC. Will my CWP allow me to carry a knife larger that that legally? Where can I carry? Can I carry an assisted opener? How about an auto-opener?

The typical disclaimer...I am not a lawyer!

The short answer is yes it does but you have to do some reading and cross-referencing in the SC law in order to see that it is legal. A knife with a blade length over two inches is considered a weapon. However, if you are licensed to carry a concealed weapon you are ok. After all, it is a concealed weapon permit not a concealed handgun permit, an important distinction. The only real requirement would probably be that it not be over 12 inches in length since that's the limit on handguns.

There is nothing in the law that limits the type of knife as in auto-opening. The only real defining factor is that if it is under 2 inches in blade length it isn't even considered a weapon.

If you don't have a CWP you can openly carry a handgun and have a machete slung across your back as long as you're on your own property.

Some terms. You may see things in the Gun Law section of the SLED website that states: Article 4, Chapter 31 of Title 23: Link Removed

Title 23 - Law Enforcement and Public Safety
Chapter 31 - Firearms
Article 4 - Concealed Weapon Permits

The first section we look at is:

SECTION 16-23-405. Definition of “weapon”; confiscation and disposition of weapons used in commission or in furtherance of crime.

(1) Except for the provisions relating to rifles and shotguns in Section 16-23-460, as used in this chapter, ‘weapon’ means firearm (rifle, shotgun, pistol, or similar device that propels a projectile through the energy of an explosive), a knife with a blade over two inches long, a blackjack, a metal pipe or pole, or any other type of device or object which may be used to inflict bodily injury or death.