CWL Finally Received!

MrG

Background… Air Force member and had previously been issued a resident Oklahoma CWP. I moved from Oklahoma to Florida in the summer of 2008. Normally, I wouldn’t have applied for the Florida permit, but I changed my residency to Florida from Oklahoma for tax purposes. As Oklahoma does not issue non-resident permits, and I now hold a FL driver’s license I thought it would be best to apply for the FL permit. Also, I wasn’t sure if Florida would honor my Oklahoma permit since I am a FL resident and did not want to put myself into a situation where I could possibly be arrested and lose my rights. Admittedly, I also wanted to see what the FL CWL process would be like. Here are some of the details of my adventure.

Used the electronic fingerprint option. My prints were taken on 8 January by Tampa Police Department. I arrived at the downtown TPD headquarters at approximately 1:00 p.m. and was done by 3:30 p.m. There were approximately 4 people waiting for prints when I arrived. I waited approximately 2 hours for the people in front of me to be processed. There was only one police officer who was performing the electronic service and I think he was at lunch when I first arrived. This seems to explain why the four people who were in line before me waited for approximately 45 minutes before the line started moving. When I was eventually called for my prints to be taken, the process took approximately 20 minutes. The police officer, to his credit, was extremely friendly and talkative. He described his fingerprinting job as an additional duty and said that he had been very busy for the past 4 months. On a side note, most everyone who was in front of me and those who arrived after me were carrying the brown manila envelope that the Florida Department of Agriculture sends for CWP licenses. There could be other packages that look like the CWP, but they all looked identical.