CCW Reciprocity

FloridaBlue

Hey everyone, I had a question that maybe someone who has been through this process before can help me. I am a Florida resident and will be moving to Ohio next year. I know Florida and Ohio have a reciprocity agreement and was thinking about getting my CCW Permit here in Florida. My concern is when I move back to Ohio and become an Ohio resident will I have to retake all the CCW course over again or can I just submit a form for a change of address and just transfer a Florida CCW over to an Ohio one?

Any information is greatly appreciated.

Hey everyone, I had a question that maybe someone who has been through this process before can help me. I am a Florida resident and will be moving to Ohio next year. I know Florida and Ohio have a reciprocity agreement and was thinking about getting my CCW Permit here in Florida. My concern is when I move back to Ohio and become an Ohio resident will I have to retake all the CCW course over again or can I just submit a form for a change of address and just transfer a Florida CCW over to an Ohio one?

Any information is greatly appreciated.

There is no transferring a license. Your FL is good until it expires. Depending on the class you took to get your FL permit you may need to take another for the OH permit. OH has some specific requirements for their class.

Your FL License would still be valid in OH, so you wouldn't have to get a new OH License. One reason to get an OH license would be for those states that don't accept non-resident licenses.

However, the Florida permit is only good in Florida for exempting the person from the 1000' Federal Gun Free School Zone Law. So, a person in Ohio, carrying a concealed handgun on a Florida license, violates Federal law if they carry that gun within 1000' of a school:

18 USC 922 (q)(2):

(2)