AR-15 guestions

Nicholas A.

AR-15 questions

I recently got my first handgun and am looking at getting an AR-15, I can say I am extremely new to everything. Between the price range I've seen at my local gun shops of everything from about 700 all the way up to nearly 2,500 and all look good but I have no idea what the difference is between the various makers other then possibly name. So if you guys can point me in a direction or help me select an AR that will be everything I want.

There's a lot of choices when shopping for an AR. Many of the lower recievers are made by the same company & have a different brand rolled onto them. They are also mil spec, which means they'll be the same no matter what brand.

There's as many chioces for ARs are there are for your wife/gf when buying shoes. Do some research. Read some articles & books. Pre-ban & post ban may mean something in your state. Many, if not all, parts can be interchangable.

$2500 is crazy for your first AR, but I am not sure if a $700 one will last a lifetime. Based on my limited research it seems that right around $1000 is the sweet spot between affordable and reliable.

I know 2500 is well outside of my price range, and the 700-800's are the used ones in the shop for new they have so many. I've been looking at the Smith and Wesson as well as the colts mostly due to name brand which can mean something. I noticed one brand I never heard of which doesn't saw much since I dont know much about them, the brand is called DPMS or its DMPS I know its one of those lol.

I'm in the same boat here (except I own several handguns :)

There are so many choices for AR15's, that at least for me, it's overwhelming.

I'm looking for a few good choices, that I can pick from that.

Thanks in advance,

UD