Am I being paranoid? No safety on pistols?

Annee

I'm fairly new to gun ownership I bought my first pistol last summer, a Ruger LC9S, and love it. I almost bought another one this weekend. I loved it. It was a M&P Shield 9 mm, but I didn't get it because it didn't have a safety. My Ruger LC9S has a safety, and I've been training with it already.

And what about these belly bands and deep concealed over the undies bands without a safety? There's nothing much covering the trigger with those, right?

And those flash bang holsters scare the pants off me. The pistol hangs horizontally and if it would accidentally go off it would hit whoever is beside the women. It breaks one of the three basic rules, Keep the gun pointed in the safest possible direction.

That little bottom hinge on the trigger lever is the safety, the pistol will not fire unless someone or something pulls the trigger. When not in your hand the pistol should be in a proper holster that covers the trigger. When it's in your hand, one is assumed to possess the control necessary to not allow things into the trigger guard that shouldn't be in there. I've been carrying a Glock (among other things) since they were first imported into the US (summer of 85, I believe) and in thirty some odd years I've never worried about it firing by negligence so long as I did my part.

No, you're not being paranoid; but you are obsessing unnecessarily.

Welcome to the forum!

First of all, the S&W M&P Shield 9mm is a great firearm and is one of the very few that are produced in two variants: with a thumb safety and without. You apparently had your hands on the variant without the thumb safety.

Thumb safeties on handguns are often misunderstood. Why do you think you need a thumb safety on a S&W M&P Shield 9mm? Its trigger pull is 6.5 pounds. I suggest learning about the root causes of negligent discharges - exhaustion, distraction and poor procedure: