A couple of dumb questions from an old guy.

UATKP

Uncle Al
Our new proposed law for open carry in Texas stipulates a holster with "two types of retention". I know what a serpa holster with a trigger retention is... I have one. But I don't guess I've ever seen one with two types of retention. Is that a ridiculous requirement?
Can someone give me some examples of what this means?

Is that a ridiculous requirement?

Yes. Other states that don't have such a silly requirement have no problems. Every state when they propose to relax gun controls always predict that they will have "blood running in the streets" problems that no other state has had before them.

One of the reason I do not open carry is that there are very few non-duty holsters that prevent a gun grab. I had my gun snatched out of my low security duty rig when I was a rookie. I ordered a better holster the next day. Lost alot of sleep waiting for it to arrive.

That is one advantage of having a gun concealed. If they don't see it, they are a lot less likely to grab it.

Arizona is open carry been carrying there for several years no retention, the way holster is made make removing the firearm from behind almost impossible, custom made a couple of years ago in Mexico.

No such thing as a stupid question.

First off let's all understand one thing and this could be a life lesson for some. There is only one stupid question......... that is the one you don't ask. With that out of the way could this law possibly be referring the the retention device on the hoslter that resists the gun being removed and.......... a retention device on the paddle or clip to help the entire holster from being removed in a struggle for the weapon.
Ultimately no matter how one carries our situation awareness in crowds must he in a heightened state to insure that we don't walk into a problem.