1st AR build from 80% reciever

JimTh

Banned
So I am now getting into the build an AR with an 80% blank. I know some on this forum have done such work and I need a question answered. The build guides are specific with depths giving depths to the thousandths of an inch. This seems almost like an impossible task...but people do it without a CNC machine. Just how critical are the tolerances. No need to tell me I can be a couple of thousandths out here or there lest that become my new bench mark. I just don't understand how to cut that closely with a drill press but they seem to do it on youtube. All advise is welcome.

Howdy Jim,

As a shadetree wannabe machinist I just do not see how a person would machine out the trigger group area with a standard drill press.

It would be pretty tough to do it on a quality mill/drill.

As with most of my "projects" I machine them oversize/undersized and then polish to fit.

After thinking about this:

I guess if a person would rough drill the TG area making sure it was vey undersized then using a dremel, files, needle files, etc it would be possible be would take many, many hours to complete.

I guess the only really critical areas would be where the TG pin holes are located. This would be the inside dimensions of the lower.

Also the pin hole(s) would have to be in the EXACT locates for everything to work right.

It's doable but would take an incredible amount of time and patience to do.

At the last gunshow I was at there were literally 100's of lowers for under $70 out the door. Heck, for $75.00 you could buy them from an individual without paperwork.

If I was worried about a paper trail this is the route I would take instead of try to build an 80% lower without atlest a mill/drill.

Paul