Open Carry for out of state permits

PhoenixTX

Just wondering if anyone might have some insight on this, perhaps with a statute for reference?

I'm a Texas resident with a CHL. I spend a lot of time working in OKC. Obviously my CHL is valid in OK, but does that apply to open carry as well? As I travel to various states I realize that I need to be aware of and abide by each state's laws, but as Oklahoma's laws are now less restrictive than Texas I wanted to make sure I wouldn't get in trouble for open carry.

For the record, I'm not actually planning on open carrying. I think the best part of open carry is the fact that accidentally exposing your firearm or even "printing" isn't an issue any longer. If I were to be spotted with an exposed weapon I wanted to make sure open carry would apply, unlike Texas where an exposed weapon is a misdemeanor.

I also live in Texas and have a CHL. The way I read the law, I believe I am legal if I open carry in Oklahoma. I also am not sure that I will open carry there, but I don't want to worry if my jacket blows open by that Okie wind. :eek:)
You can read the new law for yourself by looking for the link in the Sticky, above your post on the main Oklahoma discussion page.

After reading the law as posted on Handgun Law Website, it appears that I am mistaken... according to what they have quoted, you must have a concealed carry permit from the State of Oklahoma before you can open carry a handgun there. I'll be doing some more research on the matter.

Last edited:
As taken from Oklahoma's SDA:

VERSION 2 (as amended by Laws 2012, SB 1733, c. 259, § 44, eff. November 1, 2012)
The State of Oklahoma hereby recognizes any valid concealed or unconcealed carry weapons permit or license
issued by another state.
Any person entering this state in possession of a firearm authorized for concealed or unconcealed carry upon the