Moving to NY State

BamaBoy

Assuming that I'm not a prohibited person, if I move to New York State, can I legally bring my Smith & Wesson Model 36 Chief revolver with me and keep it in my house? Do I have to get a license to own/possess it? Do I have to register it with some agency?

I used to live in the People's Republic of New Jersey, and even there, no permit or registration was required merely to possess a firearm (on one's own property).

Thank you.

WHY IN THE HECK would you want to move to NY???? If anything I would move to Florida or Texas. If you move there Sir...Good Luck!

Thanks for responding. Just a theoretical question: If I move to New York State. . . .

I was born in New York City, lived in New Jersey for 54 years, and have lived in Alabama for the past 7. I hope never to see either NJ or NY again.

I'm asking because my brother-in-law lives in NYC, and he has discovered that obtaining a permit to purchase a handgun in the city involves enormous and repeated annual fees, as well as signed promises from other people that when he dies, they will inform the police of that fact so they can confiscate the firearm. But the permit is required for purchase, and we were wondering whether a resident can simply own a firearm in his home.

Of the 50 states, Alabama has the highest percentage of CCW permit holders, and the total is over half a million. I will never again live in a state that does not readily issue CCW permits.

I Was Born in NYC and raised on Long Island until my 16th birthday when I left for the Army. I now live in the South. I would rather live in some cesspool in West Africa or the Middle East before I'd ever move back to the City. And, NO, you can't take your pistol to NYC, unless you have mega bucks and can bribe an official to give you a permit.