Moving out of state

smitty3187

Hi All,

I am moving to the South for the military and have a MA resident LTC. If I have it registered under my parents' address (a permanent address) can I keep the license? Or do I need to change my address to my address in the South...in which case it will likely be revoked.

Thanks.

Because you move to a different state does not mean you have to give up your citizenship (residency) of your last or home of record state.

For example: I am in the USAF and live in NM because Uncle Sugar told me they need me here but I am still a legal resident of NH where I am from. NH understands this so I still have a NH CCW and Drivers License with no problems.

If you have any questions your legal office on base/post will give you a ton of information concerning this topic. ;)

Hi All,

I am moving to the South for the military and have a MA resident LTC. If I have it registered under my parents' address (a permanent address) can I keep the license? Or do I need to change my address to my address in the South...in which case it will likely be revoked.

Thanks.

MA does issue to non-residents so even if you did change your address that is not a reason for revocation. Just keep in mind a non-res MA permit is only good for one year and you have to reapply in person...keep your parents address.

Hi All,

Thanks.

You wouldn't get revoked, if you've already got a unrestricted permit you should be fine. Especially since you moving for military. But you may be better off with getting a permit where your stationed for the purpose of buying without needing a MA FFL involved.

I am moving out of state from MA to NY and I am in the middle of a LTC renewal. where should I keep my pistol before I take it to NY state? I had had an LTC with no restrictions prior to my moving. Please help?