EDC Opinion

BlackSwampLeather

I am a holster maker and I have been making holsters for about 9 years. The one question I have always had when making holsters for everyday carry is why would you want red dot sights or lasers on a self defense pistol? Just my opinion here, I dont understand all the extra stuff considering a self defense situation most of the time does not allow the time to try and use these things. I have no issues with them just FYI. I just cant see spending the money on something you probably wont have the time to use and may potentially get in the way causing you precious life saving seconds if they get hung up on something or fail.
Please give me your thoughts and be considerate to each other.
Thank you.

Mike
www.blackswampleather.com

OK, I’ll try to work with you on this. Let’s see? First of all, I am not entirely sure that you understand the true purpose and utility that an RMR ‘Red Dot’ pistol optic has to offer.

Back in the late 1990’s when Bruce Piatt was a widely recognized pistol champion, I read about an interview he had where he praised a brand new pistol ‘sight’ he had been playing around with as the fastest pistol sight he had ever used!

That was it for me! I’d seen Piatt shoot, and if he said that a certain pistol sight was the best he’d ever used then I had to have one too. Herein is the big advantage to red dot pistol optics: These pistol optics allow the shooter to quickly pick up on a target (including a moving target), and very quickly deliver accurate gunfire onto it.

The main problem I’ve had with these optics is that sometimes, like when you move from a dully lit area out into bright sunlight, they can ‘wash out’ on you, and too often at the wrong time! Rain can also distort the target image. However, when a red dot optic works it really works well.